top of page

From the High Desert to the Bay Area: Adelanto Teen to Attend UC Berkeley

Updated: Jun 7, 2020



Despite the many challenges the class of 2020 has faced, Emily Flores remains hopeful of the future as she prepares to start college this upcoming fall.


As a first-generation student, Flores initially felt lost and did not know how to start her college applications. She was hesitant to even apply to four-year institutions and considered staying at Victor Valley College where she was enrolled in the Dual Enrollment program.


“I had no idea how to start my college applications. I was hesitant to apply and considered sticking to community college,” she said. “It was what I already knew.”


However, with the help of Dream Generation, Flores was able to let go of her fears.


“Speaking to both Hector and Leslie inspired me. I thought to myself, ‘I can apply. I can do this. I want to see where I can go,’” the Adelanto resident explains.


Dream Generation worked closely with Flores to educate her on the college and financial aid application process. Dream Generation helped Flores identify schools that would be a good fit for her and develop a specialized game plan. In addition, Dream Generation assisted Flores with her personal statements by providing valuable advice and multiple rounds of review.


Flores was accepted to 10 universities and will be attending UC Berkeley which is often ranked the #1 public university in the world. Flores will be the first in her family to attend college. She will be majoring in Biology and intends to graduate in three years. Flores aspires to attend medical school after graduating and become a trauma surgeon.


The 18-year-old is excited to move-out and explore the Bay Area. She is also ready to take on any challenge that may be ahead.


“Knowing that there will be difficult moments in the future — I have made an inspiration board that I will hang up in my dorm room. I’ve written down my goals and have included pictures of my family and friends,” she said. “I’m determined to accomplish my goals and to be a successful woman.”


We are incredibly proud of Emily and all of her hard work and achievements. Her story truly stands as a testament that anything is possible.


We are excited for her to embark on this new adventure and cannot wait to witness everything that she will accomplish!



153 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page